Recover lost data in linux

Before 3 days I lost my whole data accidentally while installing Ubuntu. Earlier I had Windows 7 and Ubuntu 10.04 in my laptop. I was trying to remove Ubuntu 10.04 and install Ubuntu 11.10, but accidentally It erased everything and I found I was left with just a singly Drive in newly installed Ubuntu.

Then I searched for various backup tools, and found few of them as very useful. I am listing how they work..

1. SCALPEL

sudo scalpel /dev/sda1 -o /home/gurumukhi/ram/sc

2. FOREMOST

sudo foremost -t rar -i /dev/sda1 -o /home/gurumukhi/ram/fore

Leave a Reply

